A Christmas Trilogy Part III

The Greatest Ever Christmas Tree
Part III
Ruckus

The man with a puzzled look
Turned and then a few steps took
Until in front of Hoot he stood
And with all the control he could

Said “Hoot, I know I’m in your debt
You’ve been a big help since we met
It’s obvious that you meant well
Having Toothpick this tree fell

I think, in fact, we are defeated
Our options, it seems, are depleted
I don’t know this Ruckus dude
But I’m ready to conclude

That if I cannot drag this tree
Successful he’s not going to be
But at that moment came a bellow
And there stood an antlered fellow

Broad of shoulder, tall of limb
The man stood in awe of him
“Hello” said Ruckus, “I’m a moose
I’m here to pull your tree loose”

“First, I’ll need your belt and laces
To help me to concoct the traces
That we’ll wrap around the tree
And tie the other end to me

With that done, the big moose strained
And with his eyes on the village trained
Ruckus seemed up to the task
But in success he did not bask

While from his brow sweat did fall,
Ruckus did not stop at all
Step by step, he moved ahead
With Hoot and Toothpick in his stead

“It works, it works” the man yelled
“He’s bringing out the tree you felled”
And on they went, a curious group
Until arriving at the stoop

Of the man’s home that they had sought
Come out and see what we have brought
The tree, my friends have worked so hard
To cut and drag into our yard

Friends and neighbors from the night
Came to see the strangest sight
For there, beside a gorgeous tree
Stood Ruckus, Toothpick, Hoot, and he

Who without them would not have found
The greatest Christmas tree around
“How can I thank you” the man said
Besides assuring that you’re fed

Oh, you don’t owe us anything
We were glad your tree to bring
And if, perhaps, you find it can
Bring a sense of joy to Man

Then there’s just one thing that we pray
As they turned to walk away
Hoot flew o’er them and did call
It’s Peace on earth-Goodwill to all

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Fantasy, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Christmas Trilogy Part III

  1. quiall says:

    That was wonderful!

    Like

  2. thoroughly enjoyed it – the wonderful story and the flawless execution

    Like

Leave a Reply

