A Christmas Trilogy Part II

The Greatest Ever Christmas Tree
Part II
Toothpick

From the brush there came a rustle
And the bunny with a hustle
Hopped to Hoot and quickly said
I found him but I ran ahead

Tell your friend, do not dismay
Right now Toothpick’s on his way
I told him we don’t have all night
And to bring his appetite

Slowly through the snow he came
With his furry waddling frame
“Hi, I’m Toothpick, I’m a beaver
Nature’s perfect tree retriever”

The man could only stare in awe
Of course, what else were beavers for
But to gnaw and chew on trees
“Hey Hoot” said Toothpick, “If you please”

In the swamp, I was reclining
An engineering feat refining
When Bunny showed up telling me
Something about a Christmas tree

I am here to tell you brother
To me one tree is like another
So this gig had best be good
What’s so special about this wood?

Hoot pointed to the stately fir
And for a moment did demure
I know to you it’s just a tree
But to him it’s ecstasy

Ok, ok, I understand
You want me to lend a hand
Or if you really want the truth
You want me to lend a tooth

To bring this mighty tree to ground
By chewing the trunk round and round
So several nibbles Toothpick took
With every bite the branches shook

At last the tree began to sway
And still the beaver gnawed away
Until there came a mighty roar
And where the  tree had stood before

Now stood a stump and chewed up wood
The man said “Toothpick, you are good
I don’t know what I’d done without you
I can’t believe that I would doubt you

Could bring down my perfect tree
Which I’ll take to my family
To help us celebrate the season
And you my friends, will be the reason

That our holiday is bright
But I can’t stand here all night
I have a long way yet to go
Dragging this tree through the snow

He grabbed the tree and with a heave
He prepared with tree to leave
But with all attempts to trudge
The perfect tree refused to budge

Twas at this point the man’s face paled
For again it seemed he’d failed
He was unable to retire
With the tree of his desire

Toothpick said “Hey, all’s not lost
We’ll get it out at any cost
With that Hoot let out a cry
Let’s let Ruckus have a try

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Fantasy, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

