Friendship

I saw a video on CBS Sunday morning news last week that described studies that have recently been done on friendship, and it’s importance in our lives. Basically, they performed some tests which were done alone and then done again with a friend present. In each case, the portions of our brain that signal alarm were much more acute when performing them alone then when with a friend.
I am fortunate in that I have always been able to make friends easily. I am definitely not a solitary person, so having a circle of friends has always been important. I value them. I would not want to go through life without them. I don’t think I have ever been one to take a friend for granted. But what I never thought much about is the alternative of doing things alone versus with a friend. I mean, do I choose to be with a friend, or do I really choose not to be alone. There is a difference I think.
I do not like to go out to eat alone, drink alone, or go to movies or sporting events alone. The experiences are so enriched when shared with a friend. In fact, I would probably choose not to go at all if by myself.
I don’t know what this all means, except that I guess I agree with the conclusions of the study. Time spent with friends is preferable to time spent alone. I don’t really care if I am really trying to avoid solitude. I am much happier when I am sharing my time with a friend.
Think about all the time and money that could have been saved if, instead of doing a study, they had just asked me. Just sayin.

About oldmainer

I am a retired manager living in Southern Maine and a would be writer of poetry, narratives, short stories, and random opinions, and that's how Oldmainer was born. Recently, I decided to try an experiment. I added photography to the mix, using only a cheap cell phone with a limited camera and the editing software that came with it, and added the blog site Inklings at poormanspoet.wordpress.com to showcase the results. So, feel free to use whatever you find interesting or worthy, but please honor the terms of my copyright when and if you do. They may not be much, but they are still a piece of me. I appreciate your checking me out and hope that you find something that will encourage a return visit. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Family, Friendship, Insight, Life, Neighbors, Perspective, Reflection, Relationships, Unity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friendship

  1. I’m happy for you. I’m a loner most of the time.

    Like

  2. quiall says:

    hahah I enjoy a little solitude, I get more done. I also cherish my time with friends. They make me a better person.

    Like

  3. Sonya Kassam says:

    I love watching movies on my own.

    Like

Leave a comment