Life’s Voyage

As a young man I cast off my line and sailed into life’s sea
My destination was unknown, just happy to be free

I oft sailed troubled waters, furling sails til the time when
I’d ridden out the turbulence and my seas were calm again

Each storm I met would leave it’s mark, but it also helped me see
It’s all part of the voyage, it made a stronger me

My trips took me to many shores, each offered something new
I would fill my hold with knowledge, then my anchor weigh anew

My moral compass set my course, truth kept my vessel straight
Integrity filled out my sails, friendship was my mate

But alas, this weary sailor knew when he should sail no more
Since time and tide had run their course, I set a course for shore

I sailed into life’s harbor where my anchor came to rest
Threw my sea bag on my shoulder full of memories from my quest.

I often open up the bag and relive the years inside
Back when I was a young man and I rode life’s rising tide

Originally published Feb 2012

About oldmainer

I am a retired manager living in Southern Maine and a would be writer of poetry, narratives, short stories, and random opinions, and that's how Oldmainer was born. Recently, I decided to try an experiment. I added photography to the mix, using only a cheap cell phone with a limited camera and the editing software that came with it, and added the blog site Inklings at poormanspoet.wordpress.com to showcase the results. So, feel free to use whatever you find interesting or worthy, but please honor the terms of my copyright when and if you do. They may not be much, but they are still a piece of me. I appreciate your checking me out and hope that you find something that will encourage a return visit. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Aging, Insight, Life, Memories, Ocean, Perspective, Poetry, Reflection, Rhyme, Vision and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life’s Voyage

  1. quiall says:

    That was lovely!!

    Like

  2. scifihammy says:

    A delightful poem. 🙂

    Like

  3. one of your best poems my friend.

    Like

Leave a comment