Young Love

I walked into the party’ and said you look ‘some kind of wonderful’. You didn’t say anything but gave me a funny look. I said ‘is there something on your mind that you’re not telling me’? You said ‘every time you kiss me I’m not certain that you love me’. ‘This time we’re really breaking up’.’I’m sorry, so sorry’. Then you began to cry. I said come on, ‘big girls don’t cry’. You replied ‘it’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to’. I said tell me ‘it’s only make believe’. ‘Right or wrong, I can’t stop loving you’. ‘Where did our love go’? ‘Don’t you want somebody to love’? ‘If I can’t have you, I don’t want nobody baby’. I pleaded, just ‘one night with you’, ‘then you can tell me goodbye’. You said ‘that’ll be the day’.

Now ‘I’m Mr lonely’. ‘What becomes of the brokenhearted’. ‘Every day heartaches grow a little stronger’. ‘ I see you in all the old familiar places’. ‘I don’t have anything since I don’t have you’. It’s going to be a cold lonely summer’. It’s hard to make believe you’re happy when you’re gray’.

Then ‘one summer night’ I drove my ‘pink Cadillac’ to ‘Palisades Park’ and decided to spend some time at ‘the hop’. Walking in, ‘I saw her standing there’. I thought ‘oh what a night’. ‘I didn’t even know her name’, but I knew it was ‘now or never’. I walked over and said ‘hello little baby’. ‘What’s your name little girl.’ . ‘You’re just too good to be true. I can’t take my eyes off of you’. ‘Do you wanna dance and hold my hand?’

She said ‘I want to hold your hand and rock around the clock’. ‘Let’s get it on’. ‘Dance with me. Hold me closer and closer as the music sways’. I said ‘you are the answer to my lonely prayer’. She said ‘every night I hope and pray a dream lover will come my way’. ‘They say for every boy and girl there’s just one love in this whole world’. I’ve waited for ‘this magic moment.’

‘When we danced, I held her tight and all the stars were shining bright, and then I kissed her’. I said ‘come go with me’ and we wandered ‘down under the boardwalk down by the sea’ and wrote’ love letters in the sand’. It was ‘poetry in motion with her walking by my side’. I said’ since I met you baby’, ‘I can’t help falling in love with you’. I am ‘devoted to you’. I think we could be ‘happy together’. ‘ I can’t see me lovin nobody but you’. ‘ I want you to want me.’ ‘I’m leavin it up to you. Whatcha gonna do.’ You said ‘I must be dreamin when you say you love me’. ‘I’ll be there with a love so true.’

‘When the night has come and the moon is the only light you see’, you said ‘goodnight sweetheart, well, it’s time to go’. I said ‘goodnight my love, may tomorrow be sunny and bright and bring you closer to me’. ‘And then she kissed me’.

As I drove home I thought ‘what kind of love is this that turns my heart inside out’. I can’t believe that I met my ‘dream lover’. ”She’s so fine.’

For those of you “of an age” you no doubt will recognize a lot of what I wrote (everything in quotes) is either lyrics or a song title from the 50’s and 60’s. Back when music was something you could really dance to and understand the words. It also was a time when song writers and singers were apparently fixated on Young Love. For those of you that aren’t that old, well, you missed some great stuff. As I have recently heard it said “Enjoying music is like eating a candy bar. First, you throw away the (w)rapper.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Young Love

  1. quiall says:

    Yup! Loved the trip down memory lane!

    Like

  2. oldmainer says:

    Every once in a while I have to dust off my blue suede shoes:)

    Like

  3. pchj@twc.com says:

    Ok, how long did the research of all the songs take you, not to mention the creativeity? 😀😀 Fun read, one or two were from 1940s were they not.

    Like

    • oldmainer says:

      It took about a month off and on. Don’t think there are any 40’s in there but could be I guess. Which ones did you have in mind. Did all my research on 50 and 60s radio stations and playlists on the web. Still love this music, so it was a lot of fun.

      Like

  4. I recognize all the lyrics – used to sing some of them with the boys on the streetcorner – you created a piece of “poetry in motion”

    Like

  5. Sonya Kassam says:

    ‘I heard it through the grapevine’ that you wrote a new post and I truly didn’t want it to ‘stop in the name of love’ and I really do ‘R-E-S-P-E-C-T’ your work

    🙂

    Thoroughly enjoyed this! Well done, Bob!

    Like

  6. Absolutely fabulous!!! I’m not from that era but i still know all the songs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

