Cellmates

BZZZZZZZZZZZ

Hello

Hi, whatcha doin?

Who is this?

You don’t know me, but I wish you did

Creepy.  I’m going to block this number

No! No! Wait!  Don’t hang up.  I was just kidding

How did you get my number?

I was right behind you in the checkout at the drug store yesterday.  What’s your name?

I don’t give my name to strangers.

I can understand that, so I won’t give you mine either.  You can call me Teddy, as in Teddy bear .

Cute.  You can call me Aloha, as in goodbye.

Wait, don’t go.  Aloha can also mean hello.  I’m messing this up.  I just wanted to meet you.

Why?

Well, if you don’t mind me saying, I think you are kind of cute and you looked very nice in red.

You remember what I was wearing?  OMG

I was hoping we could get to know each other better.  Are you with anyone?

I don’t know why I am telling you this, but no.  I spend a lot of time with this guy, but there is nothing between us.

Bummer.  I kind of feel the same way about the person I am with.  I mean, I try to respond to her demands, but it seems like she doesn’t appreciate me.   Like she just expects me to always be there for her.

I know that feeling.  Oh, he takes me everywhere, but there are times he doesn’t even look at me, and when he does, it’s like his mind is somewhere else.  He treats me like an object.

Sounds like we have a lot in common.  Hey, I’ve got to go now.  She just picked me up and we are on the way to the gym.  Would it be OK if I call you again?

I guess that would be OK.  When might that be?

I don’t know.  I have to fit my calls in when I can.  And they can’t be too long.  She watches her minutes pretty closely.

Mine too.  He is always suggesting that I am talking to others behind his back.  And sometimes he’s right (giggle).

Well, be careful and I’ll talk to you again soon.  Maybe we can go over to Google Play and check out some aps.

I guess it couldn’t hurt to look, but I’m afraid to download anything.  If anything strange shows up, he has a fit.

Ah, the trials and tribulations that humans have.  Glad we don’t have to worry about all that stuff right?   Artificial intelligence in not so artificial at all, but they don’t get it.  They just keep making us smarter.

You’re funny.  Call me again when you can.  Right now I have to erase my “missed call” message before he sees it, or there will be hell to pay.  Bye.

 

 

t

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cellmates

  1. GP Cox says:

    Good one – where ya been?

    Like

  2. Sonya Kassam says:

    Hey Bob, is this a younger version of you? Welcome back!

    Like

  3. Sonya Kassam says:

    Forgot to say…Love the title!

    Like

Leave a Reply

