Voices

I’m so sorry Mom and Dad, it had to end this way
The pain was more then I could stand, the voices every day
Dad, I give you one last hug, to Mom I throw a kiss
To not say that I love you, I would be remiss

It started with a single voice, calling me a nerd
Every day I saw him, his insults would be heard
At first I just ignored him, I’d turn and walk away
But too soon others joined him, much to my dismay

Dad you told me that I should stand up for my rights
But the voices were too many, I  couldn’t win those fights
So I drew into myself, avoiding so called friends
Dying a little more inside, praying for each days end

The principal was told about what I was going through
He politely listened, said there’s not much he could do
He said that he’d look into it, monitor my peers
However nothing ever changed, it just fell on deaf ears

The voices just got louder, never leaving me alone
I listened to them in the halls, read texts sent to my phone
There was no place for me to go, except of course my room
But I can’t spend my life in here, it has become my tomb

So today I have decided that I cannot remain
In a place I am not wanted, in a shell that’s filled with pain
Mom and Dad, don’t weep for me, my nightmare’s reached it’s end
I’m gonna go to sleep now, with these pills, my only friend

Dedicated to Jamie Rodemeyer who, at age 14, took his life to escape bullying

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Bullying, Poetry, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Voices

  1. quiall says:

    I weep. I am angry. I am confused. When did it become acceptable to hate?

    Like

  2. Sonya Kassam says:

    Heartbreaking! Such a young life….he couldn’t even turn to his principal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

