Tellin Tales

How many times can you remember someone deciding they had to share some juicy tidbit about someone else?  Probably more times then you would like.  Although I suspect every one of us is guilty to some degree, it does seem that some people have more of a predilection for sharing the news, however uncertain it may be.  I have heard my share of gossip over the years and always try to remind myself to ‘consider the source’.  And of course,question whether it passes the smell test.  By that I mean is it true, is it positive, and is it useful.  If any or all three don’t pass muster, then there is no real reason to perpetuate the story and no real reason to listen to it.  This puts me in mind of a story that I will share with you to illustrate my point.

In ancient Greece Socrates was known for his wisdom.  One day an acquaintance ran up to him excitedly and said “do you know what I just heard about Digenesis?”

“Before your start” Socrates said, “let me ask you if what you are about to relate is the truth”.

“I don’t know” the friend said.  “I just heard it myself”.

“So you don’t really know if it is true.  Is the news positive?”

“No the man said.  On the contrary.  It is not good.”

Again Socrates said “So you wish to tell me something that is bad and may not be true.  Is it however in some way useful to me?”

“Not really” the man said.  I just thought you would like to know”.

“Well, if it is possibly not true or positive or useful to me, why tell me at all?”

The man was bewildered, but after some thought agreed, and walked away.

And that is why Socrates was such a great philosopher and was held in such high esteem.

P.S.  It is probably also the reason that he never found out that Digenesis was boinking his wife.  Just sayin.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor, Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tellin Tales

  1. msmcword says:

    I think Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton need to read this story.

    Like

  2. lbeth1950 says:

    Gossip is so tempting and so mean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

