You Can’t Be Syrius

“150 channels” I said.  “That’s insane.  What the hell does one do with 150 channels”?

“It allows our customers to enjoy virtual listening freedom.  And they are commercial free” she replied.

“It’s a good thing they are.   By the time I get through flipping through 150 channels, I will already be at my destination”.

“And, installation is simple.  We can have you enjoying your subscription in minutes” she said.

“I don’t know.  My car and I are just barely on speaking terms now.  It’s still not happy about having to remember my contact list.  I don’t want to be the one to tell it to make room for another 150 channels”.

“That’s funny” she said, flatly.  “The variety is unbelievable.  What do you normally listen to when you are in the car”?

“That depends” I replied.

“On what” she asked

“On whether I am alone or with my wife”.

“Um, OK.  Do you like sports”?

“Some” I said

“We carry all the major sports. NBA. NFL. NHL. Even  Nascar”.

“Nascar!  That must be interesting.  I’ve never listened to a checkered flag before.  Chuckle.  What else do you hear?  Zoom-zoom-zoom?  Chuckle, chuckle.  Hello. You still  there”?

“Yes sir. I’m still here.  Let’s try again.  Do you like music”?

“Oh yeah.  I like all kinds of music”.  Especially the oldies.

“Oh good.  We have several channels that play music from the 80’s and 90’s”

“Ah, I had something a little more, shall we say ‘classic’ in mind”.

“Sure.  I understand. We have 70’s music too”.

“That’s better, but I was thinking a little further back, like the 50’s”?

“Oh, you mean the Golden Oldies, back when music was um, ah, different.  Yes, we even have that”.

“Great.  I also like a little popular country western from time to time with songs by Hank Williams, Johnny Cash and Merle Haggard.  You know.  The stars”.

“I don’t think I have ever heard of them sir, but I’ll bet they are in there, somewhere. But, if not, you have so many other choices. “

“Like what”?

“Well, we have Hip-hop, Jazz, Folk, New Wave, Classical.  We even have Korean music if you think you would like that.  You’re not going to find that just anywhere”.

“I’m sure you are right about that, but I think I will pass on that one.  We had a sample subscription that came with the car, but we never listened to that”.

“Oh, then you have already sampled some of the benefits of XM radio.  I’ll bet you miss it huh?  Had a lot of favorites, did you?  Tell me, what were some of your favorite stations?”

“We liked 15”.

“I like that one too.  What are some of the others”?

“I’m afraid that’s it.  In the six months we had it, we only listened to 15.  I don’t suppose you have a deal where we can buy just one station do you”?  I remember back in the day when we only had a couple of stations and we all gathered around the radio and listened to whatever happened to be on.  Boy, those were the days”!!!

“Sir–Sir.  Look, why don’t you hang up and think about it for a while and then, if you decide to subscribe, you can call me, or someone else, back.  How’s that sound”?

“That sounds fine.  To be honest with you, the only reason we listened to 15 was because that is the station it was on when we bought the car and neither one of us has figured out how to change it”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Can’t Be Syrius

  1. the generation gap widens every year

    Like

  2. quiall says:

    It’s so true!!! Frightening . . .

    Like

  3. Sonya Kassam says:

    I have 6 pre-set channels, I only ever listen to 1, if at all.

    Loved your conversation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

