Ask Your Doctor

Doctors are stupid.  They must be.  I say that because they don’t know what to prescribe.  It’s true.  All you have to do is turn on the TV and you will be inundated with commercials for drugs and such that your doctor has never even discussed with you, much less prescribed.  According to the ads, we have to “ask your doctor if _____ is right for you”.  I find it a little disturbing.  Here is a man/woman that has graduated from college, progressed on to several years of med school to gain an advanced degree followed by a few years of internship, and by now, has probably been practicing for a few more.  Yet, it falls to me, a high school grad, who progressed on to several years of skilled (depending upon who you ask) endeavors, followed by a few years of retirement to follow up on what is best for me.

Hey.  Maybe they are right.  Perhaps I have been downplaying or underestimating my ability to determine what is best.  Could it be I am that guy everyone refers to as the “worlds foremost authority”?  I hadn’t thought about it until now, but I have started warming up to the idea.  I think I may have happened upon a new revenue stream that is just waiting to be exploited.  If those ads truly work for drugs, then why not car tires, or lawnmowers, or shoes?

Are those old tires letting you down.  Is air starting to show through the tread?  Tired of the under inflation light shining on your dash? Having trouble finding them in your size at a price you can afford.  Then you may need a set of Roadflyer All Weather tires.  Roadflyers are made right here in America by an American company in Ardvark Arkansas by proud Americans just like you.  They are designed and manufactured to the highest standards (ours) with your specific driving needs in mind.  Guaranteed to satisfy or we will replace them free of charge.  Just pay normal shipping and handling.  Ask your nearest Roadflyer dealer if Roadflyer All Weather tires are right for you. Do it today.
(Certain EPA tests have shown that driving over 50 MPH may have an adverse effect on tread wear and under inflation may result.  Some materials used in the manufacture of these tires may be hazardous to your health if gloves are not worn while handling. Road noise can increase and punctures are common in the course of frequent driving.  Shipping is restricted to some states.  Visit our website (www.http://blowout@slowleak.com) for further information.)

 

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ask Your Doctor

  1. quiall says:

    hahah Well said! Maybe, just maybe you have found a new calling!

    Like

  2. GP Cox says:

    Oh… I think I like the experimenting on me with different medicines each month! That has to be the best. I keep waiting to end up face down in the mashed potatoes !!

    Like

  3. George says:

    lol….very funny. You’re right, I never saw it that way. Why should we be checking with our doctors about things they should be telling us..:) nice post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

