No Good Deed

Over the years I have heard the phrase “no good deed goes unpunished” on multiple occasions.  It, unfortunately, appears to be somewhat accurate.  I know that I have been confronted with situations that left me shaking my head thinking “what the hell just happened”.  So it was with a mixture of pleasure and chagrin that I happened upon this story the other day.  Although it is obviously fiction, it is a case study of the unappreciated act of kindness.

A postal worker, who among other things was responsible for trying to assure illegible and/or incompletely addressed mail made it to it’s intended destination, happened upon an envelope that, in a shaky hand was simply addressed to “God”.  His curiosity being the greater of policy, he chose to open it and read the letter it contained.

Dear God:

I am an 83 year old widow , living on a very small pension.  Yesterday, someone stole my purse.  It had $100 in it which was all the money I had until my next pension check.  Next Sunday, I had invited two of my friends over for Christmas dinner.  Now, I have nothing to buy food with and have no family to turn to.  So I am turning to you God.  I hope you can help me.

Sincerely,

Edna

The postal worker was deeply touched and decided to try and do something to ease Edna’s burden.  He showed the letter to his co workers and each one dug into his or her pocket and kicked in a few dollars until he had collected $96.  He put the money in the envelope and, choosing to remain anonymous, did not enclose a note.  He simply mailed it back to Edna. 

A few days after Christmas, while sorting the mail on his desk, he  came upon another letter to God which, based on the shaky writing, appeared to again be from Edna.  He called his co workers over and opened the letter and read:

Dear God”

How can I ever thank you enough for what you did for me.  Because of your gift of love, I was able to fix a glorious dinner for my friends.  We had a very nice day and I told my friends of your wonderful gift.  Thank you for answering my prayer in my time of need.

Sincerely

Edna

P.S.  By the way.  There was $4 missing.  I think it might have been those bastards at the post office.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Good Deed

Leave a Reply

