Failure To Communicate

I am sure that most if not all of you at some time or other, have had a phone conversation with a customer service representative, and came away with mixed emotions. This of course would have been when you could still speak with a real person instead of a machine. Now we get to listen to endless lists of options after which you either push a button or make a verbal response, which normally results in another list of options. However, if you are persistent, you may ultimately be transferred to a real person, frequently in another country. Having reached this milestone however, is no guarantee of success. 

I have talked to some of these people and wondered if it was worth the wait. I recently was on the phone with a rep at an insurance company. He, fortunately, was here in the states, but definitely not in Maine. When he asked for my address, and I gave my street number as 2, he replied “I’ve never had a number that low before. You must have very short streets up there”. Um, no, we just figured we had to start somewhere and 2 sounded reasonable. 

And then there is something called a “live chat” where you correspond via texting. I recently tried one of those with the local cable company. In part, it went something like this. 

Me: “Can you tell me how much it is to lease a VCR and if I need any special equipment”?
Them: “Thank you for contacting XYZ cable. How may I help you”?
Me: “You could answer my question”.
Them: “Yes sir. But first I need a little information. Are you currently a customer”?
Me: “Yes, I am”
Them: “Please provide me with your address and zip code”
Me: Is all this necessary to answer my question”?
Them: “I am trying to pull up your account sir”
Me: I typed in my address and zip
Them: “I have it here. Now, you are interested in adding whole house DVR to your account. Is that correct”?
Me: No, I just want to inquire about the cost of adding a DVR to one TV set”.
Them: Did you know that for just a few dollars more,you can have whole house DVR and enjoy any recorded show from any room in the house?”
Me: I don’t care about whole house. I just want to know how much it costs to lease a DVR. Can you tell me that”?
Them: You will need to return your set top box and exchange it for a DVR. It would appear that the nearest office is in Windham. Would you like me to set that up for you”? 

Well, you get the idea. Oddly enough, the next message I got told me my chat had been inadvertently interrupted and to please stand by as they tried to re-establish contact. I thought that funny as I didn’t think we had ever made any.

Originally published July 2013

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Communication, Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Failure To Communicate

  1. George says:

    Yes, incredibly frustrating at times. But this is the world we live in today…:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

