One Of These Days

How often I have found myself saying about something or other “one of these days I’m going to”–fill in the blank.  Visit Ireland, write a novel, finish a project.  It is the mental equivalent of  putting things off until tomorrow, or later.  We all do it, and I suspect that we all know that “one of these days” will probably never come.

One of these days when time is free
And I feel the urge come over me
I’ll do the things I’ve always said
I’d do before I end up dead

Go places that I’d like to see
I’ll shed conventionality
Live life as it was meant to be
Not fantasize, but act instead
One of these days

Pleasure will be my decree
I’ll redefine normality
Adventure will lay just ahead
I’ll do it all, just like I said
One of these days

Originally published Feb 2013

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Of These Days

  1. George says:

    Sad but unfortunately, very true..:(

    Like

  2. One day never comes Bob, or so I’m told. Great piece.

    Like

Leave a Reply

