Look Both Ways

When I started writing a couple of years ago, I thought it would be easy, and to some degree it was.  Initially thoughts and subjects were plentiful and soon I was publishing poems, narratives, and opinion pieces with utter abandon, every one of them kissed by the Gods.

But soon, I found that it was taking a little longer to complete, or even develop pieces that I felt were worthy of publication.  Although I knew little about writing, and know little more now, one thing was clear.  I had to like it if I wanted you to like it.  The problem with that is, although it is of interest to me, I have to Make it of interest to you. 

When I look at something, I know what I see is not what you see.  It is not a scenario where everyone is welcome to an opinion as long as it is mine.  It requires me to frame it in such a way that it piques your interest and prompts you to stop long enough to read at least some of it and preferably the whole thing.  So a balance needs to be struck between what I want to say and what you want to read.

How do I do that.  Early on, I developed a system of role play, similar to acting.  I first decide what I want to say and how I want to say it.  Then I switch roles and ask myself “if I were to pick this up, would I read it?  Does the title and or the first couple of sentences draw me in?  Is what I am trying to convey clear or is it so abstract that the reader is not reading it out of interest, but instead, out of morbid curiosity.  Do I want to read more?” If I find it still holds my attention (I’ve written a lot of stuff that never got finished because even I got bored) then I will again switch roles and write some more.  

So there you have it.  Writing 101.  Now all these gems I drop on you have not only been written by me, but also carry my personal guarantee.  If you are not completely satisfied, you may select another entry of equal value at absolutely no cost to you.  Now you can’t beat that.  

Originally published July  2013

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Perspective, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Look Both Ways

  1. You didn’t sell cars did you Bob. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

