A Child Outside

Chalk it up to age I guess, but I often find myself comparing today’s environment to that in which I lived as a kid.  Everything was new and exciting then.  Discovery was there for the taking and take it we did.  But the years dull the senses it seems, and we sacrifice the wonder that is captured by the vision of a child.

I sit and watch a child outside my window
An air of innocence is on display
Life is new to him, he has not felt yet
Things within his mind that cause dismay

His curiosity is overwhelming
Everything he sees he must explore
Adventure lurks around each hidden corner
Nothing is too little to ignore

Expressions on his face greet each new treasure
Validated by his youthful smile
Then off again to solve another mystery
His attention held by each but a short while

It seems that as I watch, the child grows older
The magic of his world begins to wane
Reality becomes his new companion
His boyish flights will not return again

I sit and watch a child outside my window
But I am not sure that is what I see
I think that what I view is a reflection
The memories of the child that once was me

Originally posted Sep 2013

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Children, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Child Outside

  1. This is very good Bob. Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

