Optics

It is my considered opinion, based of years of experience and observation, that there is an unwritten law that says “what you do is not as important as what people think you are doing”.  For instance, when I joined the Air Force, I was trained and worked as a jet engine mechanic.  There were several of us in the shop and the majority of our time was spent performing maintenance on the engines.  One of my work mates was kind of a slacker.  But when the NCOIC (Non Commissioned Officer In Charge) was in the shop, this guy would frequently grab a clipboard and either appear to be inspecting an engine, or just making copious notes.  And, yes, he was the first one of us to receive another stripe.

As the years progressed, I watched all nature of scams, subterfuge, and politics, all in an effort to appear much more productive then they really were.  More then once I have seen others ideas presented as their own, and, just as bad, responsibility or blame for failures deflected.  But, things have a way of coming around.  I have seen those that profited from optics receive promotions over others more deserving, only to flame out due to their personal inabilities.  It was all a chess game, and as in chess, whether you are a pawn or a king, when the game is over, you all return to the same box.

You need look no further then our current crop of politicians. It is apparent that when Newton wrote his 3rd law stating that for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction, he had never met Hillary Clinton.  And she is not alone.  She just happens to be more adept as a spin doctor.  Even with her history and, how should I say this, “suspect activities”, she is able to run for president, with no reprisals (yet).

I am not guiltless of course.  I am not in her league, but I have been known to participate in the game.  Like when my wife asks what I am doing, I quickly throw the onus back at her by asking “what does it look like I am doing”?  If she says “nothing” then I have to dig a little deeper and come up with something that requires a little preparation so that I can claim that before I can complete the task, I must study my approach.  I call it my research and development stage.  I have also, being a student of the female mind, been able to avoid distasteful tasks (definition–anything that requires standing up) by the use of subterfuge.  For instant, laying out some tools gives the impression that I plan to do something.  This, I might add often loops back to the “what are you doing” question.  Another dodge is what I call “gilding the lily”.  While working on the computer, I recently explained when asked, that I was in the process of decluttering the RAM.  Unfortunately she knows what RAM means so I could not build a story around that.  However, I was able to pontificate about all the duplicate garbage we had in files and how it was eating up memory and slowing down processing.  As distasteful as it was, I had decided to undertake the challenge of finding these files, comparing them for duplication, and retaining one copy.  I reminded her that we recently had had a problem that had required restoring our files which dumped a lot of old stuff on there.  I think I convinced her that I had undertaken a major task.  When she left, I pulled up the duplicate finder program, checked every other one and hit delete.  Fifteen minutes maybe?  Time to diddle around with some games and go out on WordPress.  Maybe even post something, like this.  It’s all optics.  If I may fracture a phrase, I think “like beauty, reality is also in the eye of the beholder.  Just sayin!

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Optics

  1. quiall says:

    So very true. Ask any police officer.

    Like

  2. George says:

    Excellent points. If only….

    Like

  3. ah, being a poser can actually be its own kind of hard work

    Like

  4. You have it down to a fine art there Bob. 🙂

    Like

  5. oldmainer says:

    Well, am I glad to hear from you. Think of you often. Hope all is well, or at least better. Welcome back my friend.

    Like

  6. Bob, optics is dead in my house, she dislikes computers and so anything on it is just a waste of time, other than my volunteer work for dog rescues. I hope you never get to that stage because it would then less sitting. Good Luck

    Like

Leave a Reply

