Is It Just Me, Or

oldmainer

It is said that history repeats itself, and I believe that is true, because we are still making the same damn mistakes that have been made over and over and we still expect things to be different.  But I have noticed one thing that does seem to change, a lot, and that is how we talk.  I don’t mean languages or dialects.  I mean we don’t call stuff what we used to call stuff.  Today, we have to dress everything up to make it sound better.  Kind of like putting a bow on a skunk.  It’s still a skunk, it just looks better.  Let me give you a few examples.

It used to be that if we didn’t get somewhere on time, we were late.  Not anymore.  Today, we were simply delayed or detained.  And no one is ever busy.  Instead, they are now temporarily unavailable.  It seems that the old words…

View original post 292 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

