Theater Of The Mind

The sun, heavens fire, glows hotly, embracing my being while the sea before me dances, whitecaps stretching foamy fingers skyward in an attempt to grasp the elusive rays and pull them to it’s bosom.

What I have written is a sentence in which I attempted to be as descriptive as possible.  I was trying to paint a word picture.  In reality, we are surrounded by them, either written or read.  But initially, they are just words.  It isn’t until we interpret them that the picture begins to come to life.  And here is the interesting thing.  Everyone that reads it, will paint a different picture.

I call it the theater of the mind.  The curtain rose when you first read the statement.  Before you, the scene was set with a sun hanging conspicuously, somewhere high above a stage engulfed in water, tiny whitecaps dancing back and forth with arms reaching to touch the sun..  Alone, you stood, surrounded by the sunlight, silent, contemplating the scene.  Instantly, they were no longer just words.  They became an animated picture. A scene as simple or as complex as your imagination allowed.

We have thousands of these vignettes every day.  Our whole life is punctuated with scenes like the above without us really giving it any thought.  We see.  We digest.  We move on, each act either discarded or stored.

I think it would be so interesting to be part of a group that read the same thing at the same time and then described what it is that they saw.  Even to the point of trying to draw it.  We are such complex beings, you and I.  Just imagine the diversity of  thought and insight to which we would be treated.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Theater Of The Mind

  1. Edwin Best says:

    I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this piece. I have both attended and convened seminars doing just what you describe in your closing paragraph. How we could have done with oldmainer’s input to liven things up. Great piece – inspiring stuff!

    Like

  2. delightfully professorial

    Like

Leave a Reply

