Where Did It Go

Where did it go 
When did it end
How did it happen
My childhood transcend

Catch snow on my tongue
Stick ball in the street
Go gigging for frogs
Skin my knees on concrete

Sneak a pea shooter
Into the school
Play pirates with playmates
Wooden swords for a duel

Holes in my sneakers
Licorice whips from the store
Baby snakes in my pockets
Caused an uproar

Cap pistols and cowboys
Shoot marbles with friends
Swim down in the river
Chase neighbor’s hens

Play kickball at recess
Survive snowball fights
When the funnies were funny
Flying my paper kites

Armies of soldiers
Lined up on the floor
Marched on each other
In make believe war

Chalk drawings on sidewalks
Comic books that we swapped
Picking blackberries
Corn kernels that popped

Fireflies in a bottle
Fishing down by the bridge
Sneaking into the movies
Popsicle’s in the fridge

Dungarees with sewn patches
The old wooden swing
My first paper route
My decoder ring

Gone but for memories
Of kid things I have known
The treasures of childhood
Sadly outgrown

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Memories, Poetry, Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Where Did It Go

  1. quiall says:

    Now that took me back!

    Like

  2. George says:

    You captured childhood memories very well. Nicely done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

