When I Walked By

Alas when final words are spoken
And when all respects are paid
When my bond with life has broken
And away my body has been laid

When all the years that I collected
Reflect the times when I walked by
A lifetime lived and now rejected
My spirit free at last to fly

When I enter the new kingdom
And my savior welcomes me
Can I say with true conviction
I was the best that I could be

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Death, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When I Walked By

  1. a transcendent piece – a question that ever haunts us of a certain age

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Edwin Best says:

    Calm, peaceful, resonant work, oldmainer. i tip my hat to you, sir.

    Like

  3. I’m not hanging out for the answer either Bob. I’m quite happy to wait another 30 years. 🙂
    Nice piece btw.

    Like

Leave a Reply

