Cowboys Lament

I like most types of music, in moderation, but I particularly enjoy a good old cowboy song.  They always tell a story and most of the time someone has been wronged.  It is about the one that got away, a cheating lover, a pickup truck, or leaving.  Since I love to tell stories, I decided to write my own cowboy song.  Just for grins.  So here it is.  A Cowboys Lament.

 

You say that you don’t love me
You say I’m such a drag
As you lay there on the sofa
Eating Cheetos by the bag

Your hair is up in curlers
An old robe hides your hips
Your feet are shoved in flip flops
And of course, those orange lips

You say that I’m a loser
Not the guy I used to be
I don’t hold a candle
To the cowboys on TV

You say you’re going to leave me
But you never set a date
I said I’d pay the cab fare
But you didn’t take the bait

You sit there sucking longnecks
Just you and your churchkey
The only time that you get up
I when you have to pee

I jump into my pickup truck
Just me and my dog Blue
And drive down to the tavern
And buy myself a brew

The parties truly over
But the one thing I don’t know
Is how I’m going to miss you
If I can’t get you to go

I won’t get over losing you
If I can’t get you to go

 

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cowboys Lament

  1. Definitely a somebody done somebody wrong song!

    Like

  2. This is really good Bob, it’s even got a pick-up truck in it. 🙂

    Like

  3. oldmainer says:

    It’s probably the romantic factor:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

