Deployment

Ink lings

deployment

We stand here in our small groups, talking nervously
How I handle who I am is now all up to me 

Our duffles are stacked neatly, I hear the muffled din
.While waiting for the sergeants call “All right troops, fall in” 

My mind races with emotion as I kiss my wife goodbye
I hug my daughter closely and tell her not to cry 

I put on my bravest face although I know inside
That as I turn to walk away, a part of me has died 

I really want to look back, but dare not turn my head
I cannot dwell on what’s behind, instead, on what’s ahead 

We march through the airport, moving toward the gates
Where soon our squad will climb aboard the aircraft that awaits 

As we near other passengers, one person slowly stands
And I hear the sound of clapping from a single pair of…

View original post 83 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deployment

  1. I well remember flying in a Caribou from Saigon to Nui Dat and looking down at all the bomb craters, and thinking, ‘Well I’m finally here.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

