Did I Read That Write

Anyone that uses the computer to write messages, or perhaps a blog, knows that spell check is a Godsend.  I am terrible at spelling.  Actually, I am terrible at composition.  I couldn’t tell you a noun from a verb nor could I diagram a sentence.  I just like to write and try to appear relatively literate.  If it takes a little technical assistance to do that, then so be it.

What I find amusing, however, it how many typos and/or sentences that, even to me, just don’t sound or look right, and many times, they aren’t, can be found in the newspaper.  Especially when part of my subscription cost goes to keeping editors and proofreaders employed.  I’ll admit, some of them are subtle,  but others kind of grab you by the neck and slap you across the face.  How, you ask, could they let something like that slip by.

Although many of them are grammatically incorrect, others are just downright humorous.  Oftentimes, headlines that scream of one thing, but in fact, say another.  The other day one of my friends sent me a message containing several head scratchers.  After savoring them myself, I thought you might enjoy them too.  Here are a few for your enjoyment.

SOMETHING WENT WRONG IN JET CRASH, EXPERT SAYS

POLICE BEGIN CAMPAIGN TO RUN DOWN JAYWALKERS

JUVENILE COURT TO TRY SHOOTING DEFENDANT

WAR DIMS HOPE FOR PEACE

COLD WAVE LINKED TO TEMPERATURE

RED TAPE HOLDS UP NEW BRIDGES

NEW STUDY OF OBESITY LOOKS FOR LARGER TEST GROUP

KIDS MAKE NUTRITIOUS SNACKS

LOCAL HIGH SCHOOL DROPOUTS CUT IN HALF

TYPHOON RIPS THROUGH CEMETERY;  HUNDREDS DEAD

There you have it.  You really can’t make this stuff up.

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did I Read That Write

  1. a veritable Jay Leno routine

    Like

Leave a Reply

