Uncommon Sense

It seems to me that back in the day, people used to use their wits a lot more to address pithy issues.  They were more prone to evaluating a problem, scratching their head, and applying a solution that perhaps was not long on technology, but normally worked and, more importantly, made sense.  There is a lot to be said for logic, one being that it is not applied much anymore.

I find myself shaking my head a lot these days, mostly after reading something in the paper or on the web, both being genres that would never bend the truth (did I say that?), and thinking to myself, I can’t believe they did that.  A lot of it pertains to a single person performing a supreme act of stupidity, but they by no means have a lock on the process.  You can follow the trail of broken pieces of sense-ability all the way through industry and into the hallowed halls of government.

Try this one on for size.  Every county in Kentucky has an elected county jailer.  However, over the years, either due to a small population or the rising expense of operating a jail, many counties, 41 to be exact, have no jails, which is the logical part of this. The illogical part is that all 41 of those counties still have constitutionally elected jailers.  Yup,  all dressed up with no place to go.  Their salary collectively cost the state $1.4 million a year.  That does not include full and part time deputies (often family members) that the jailors hire.  That brings the total outlay to about $2. million. In fairness, some of them do perform some duties like transporting prisoners, etc.  But somehow, to me, this is a “Say What” moment.

When does common sense kick in and dictate that you probably don’t have to do this.  Like our government that owns hundreds of vacant buildings and pays millions in maintenance expense.  Here’s an idea.  Sell them.

When I see the waste that exists, everywhere, and much of it so thinly veiled that it defies any rationale, it really bugs me.  Especially when our elected officials stand up there and tell us there is no place else to cut expenses.  I guess it is just so much easier to set something in motion then it is to stop it.

I am reminded of the old story of two men working for the public works department.  A fellow observed them at work where one would dig a hole and the other would follow along behind filling it in.  Unable to contain his curiosity, the man walked over to them and asked them what they were doing.  One of the workers responded “we are planting trees”.  The fellow said “but I don’t see any trees”.  The worker replied “that’s because the guy that plants them is sick today”.  I’m beginning to believe this might be a true story.  Just sayin.

 

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Uncommon Sense

  1. only a cranky old down east skinflint would begrudge these obviously dedicated civil servants their hard earned compensation

    Like

Leave a Reply

