OMG They’re Back

I can’t believe it.  They have been recovered.  Those of you that read my recent post re losing two poems will know what I am talking about.  A couple of poems I wrote back in May had disappeared.  No amount of investigation unearthed them.  I did Google searches, (as did some of my blogging buddies, thank you) and Twitter searches, all to no avail.  Someone once told me that web posts are like taxes, there is always another one somewhere.  Well, in this case at least, they were right. Edwin Best, author of the blog “Another Way of Saying” apparently has a rather robust in box dating back (well, only he knows how far) a long way and, upon review, there they were.  I can’t thank him enough.  He came though when even the Cloud failed me.

I have, however, learned my lesson.  I normally compose right in WordPress as opposed to writing offline and inserting the contents.  It has therefore been my practice to every so often pull up past posts and copy them into my documents file.  This, it seems, may or may not happen with any regularity.  Having now seen the error of my ways, I intend to begin doing this immediately after publishing each post.

While thrashing about looking for a solution, I availed myself of the Support and Forum sections of WordPress, looking for assistance and enlightenment.  I did receive a reply  from “Timethief” with some information that I found helpful and thought I would pass it on.  Here is what I learned:

1) If you inadvertently move a post to trash, you can recover it for only 30 days before it is auto deleted.
2) If you created the post in the Beep Beep Boop editor, it is saved only to your browser.  If the post was created in your dashboard at Dashboard > Posts > All Posts > Add New, then you may be able to recover the post from revisions, assuming you made any. (http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/post-revisions/)  Further, it is recommended that you always create new posts from this location.
3) If you cannot recover the data from either Trash or Revisions, the contents have been lost and cannot be recovered.
4) Immediately after you create a post, click Save Draft and continue to do so frequently as you progress.
5) Always allow pages to fully load before clicking any other links.
6) Never leave a post or page open for content creations or editing and walk away or open another tab.  Always save and come back to edit later.
7) Use an offline blog editor like your documents file to create a copy on your computer.

So there you have it.  I am one happy guy today.  But even if I had not succeeded in recovering, it was refreshing and appreciated to see the support and/or condolences that some of you that follow me offered, so I again want to thank you all.  As someone once said “We truly never, ever, do anything alone”.  I’m a believer.

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to OMG They’re Back

  1. Thank you for all that fabulous information. Grateful.

    Like

  2. You might find my latest post on Sue’s Trifles pertinent! Glad you recovered your work. Sue

    Like

  3. splitspeak says:

    Woah Bob, that’s great news! So happy for you.

    Love, Mehak

    Like

  4. gpcox says:

    Sounds like a great idea. I’ll have to start that myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

