Oh No!! They’re Gone

This morning I was looking for one of my poems titled “On Cemetery Street” that I posted back in April and could not find it.  Have looked everywhere to no avail.  Now I find there is another (Grandfather Clock) missing from about the same time. I have also been through my hard copies and of course I didn’t print one off.

Has anyone else had this problem and if so is there a solution?  I guess I could have accidentally deleted them, but  don’t think so.  If I did, is there a deleted file hidden somewhere from which they can be resurrected?

Would appreciate any help or suggestions.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Oh No!! They’re Gone

  1. splitspeak says:

    I had that problem once. I may have deleted my post by error. But Hamad gave me the idea to google it up with our blog name and after a long search, some page down the line I found a cached copy. So I could type it out and re-post it. Try searching for On Cemetery Street Oldmainer wordpress or something like that. I’m sure you will find it.

    All the best,
    Mehak

    Like

    • splitspeak says:

      I tried to search but unfortunately I couldn’t find anything. So sorry I know how it feels.

      Love,
      Mehak

      Like

      • oldmainer says:

        Thank you Mehak. It was kind of you to take the time to try to help. I too did an extensive search (another one) of the web through Google and Twitter and also turned up empty. I guess it is a lesson learned. Either save to a document file or print a copy immediately. After all, I wouldn’t want to deprive the world of my pearls of wisdom:)

        Like

  2. no advice – but please tell us if and how you retrieve them

    Like

  3. I write mine offline and upload them. I may not save the final version, but I do keep something. Might be worth doing in future, but I hope you find it. Did you check both blogs 😉 Sue

    Like

    • oldmainer says:

      Normally I save to documents after I publish and/or print a hard copy. Somehow I missed these (and probably others. Will have to do an inventory). Yes, I checked both blogs and Twitter. No luck. Thanks for the support.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Have you looked in your Trash folder on WordPress? Sue

        Like

      • oldmainer says:

        Didn’t know there was one. Where is it???

        Like

      • On the dashboard. Open all posts (classic style) then at the top there are headings, published, draft, and possibly trash. Certainly if you delete a comment or post it goes to trash until you empty trash. Sue

        Like

      • oldmainer says:

        OK I’m going to show my ignorance here. My dashboard only shows a trash icon on each individual post so I must not be on Classic Style. Can you tell me how to get there???

        Like

      • OK. You don’t need to be on classic style. I’m assuming you are on a computer rather than the WordPress app for mobiles. From ‘manage my blogs’ click on ‘my sites’. The ‘posts’ a list of posts comes up with published/drafted/trashed. It is then possible to restore a post from trash. (If you haven’t any trashed posts the /trashed may not appear.) Sue

        Like

      • oldmainer says:

        Well, I have done a little more digging and find that if you trash a post (assuming I did) it only remains in the trash bin for 30 days. My posts were from last May. Looks like I (we) struck out. But I do want to express my appreciation for taking the time to assist. Thank you very much. Bob

        Liked by 1 person

  4. bgbowers says:

    Sorry, Bob, that is so frustrating. I would suggest posting a question, or searching through older questions, on the WordPress forum.
    Bianca.

    Like

  5. Nigel Good says:

    I’ve found it oldmainer!!! Among my old email notifications. Here it is:

    On Cemetery Street
    by oldmainer
    The pavement laid with cobbled stone
    Smoothed by the years, beneath my feet
    Greets me as I walk alone
    On Cemetery Street

    Behind the walls where death is sown
    Where souls of yesterday retreat
    And remnants of the past have flown
    On Cemetery Street

    Neath sentry’s of carved granite stone
    With names and dates of lives complete
    Where spirits of their past atone
    On Cemetery Street

    A single bell tolls all alone
    Where lifetimes and forever meet
    Mourners their losses can’t condone
    On Cemetery Street

    Here where the winds of sorrow moan
    The chill of passage indiscreet
    Farewells wished by those they’ve known
    On Cemetery Street

    In this place where death is prone
    This sanctuary of receipt
    Where only memories now are grown
    On Cemetery Street

    Like

    • oldmainer says:

      I don’t think I have ever told another guy that I loved them before, but I’ve got to say it now. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your ability to resurrect (an appropriate word) On Cemetery Street. I am thrilled to death. But I have to ask. Within a day of this one, I also wrote Grandfather Clock that I have also lost. Wouldn’t have a copy of that kicking around, would you??

      Like

      • Nigel Good says:

        You are not going to believe this:
        When again the brass hands meet
        Another hour to complete
        Positions juxtapose

        When in the darkness of the night
        Movement hidden without light
        Chimes their tune compose

        When silence overtakes the strains
        And measured tick-tock again reigns
        Disturbs not our repose

        from oldemail to oldmainer again!
        very happy to help – going to do a springclean of my inbox so you’d better nip in quick for anymore 🙂

        Like

      • oldmainer says:

        Again my sincere thanks to you my friend. I cannot believe that you were able to retrieve both poems. I am in your debt.

        Like

      • Nigel Good says:

        Not at all. My inbox is a disaster zone – just happy something good came out of it.

        Like

      • Nigel Good says:

        I sent some more lines – check your spam folder if you didnt get them – hope they are the right ones! 3 stanzas of GC – all the best NG

        Like

  6. Nigel Good says:

    It’s a damn good poem too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

