The E Street Bus

Ink lings

Each morning of my workweek, I board the E Street Bus 
I see familiar faces, there are a lot of us
But if I look closer, I see more then faces
I see a kaleidoscope made up of many races

Two Asians in domestic clothes chat in a dialect
A well dressed man in front of me is British I detect
Across the aisle a black man, with knitted cap pulled low
Hears music through his ear buds, while weaving to and fro

Several are Caucasian, from many walks of life
Teens and kids and elders, a husband and a wife
A dark skinned man looks at me, and judging from his dress
His race is likely Indian, but that is just my guess

As my stop approaches, I look around again
Survey the many colors, the women and the men
When I step on the sidewalk, my day not yet…

View original post 13 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

