Strangers

Ink lings

I often watch as you walk by
You and many others
Lost within your thoughts and plans
Within a sea of brothers

We are strangers you and I
We have never spoken
We stay locked within ourselves
Our privacy unbroken

Time has become our enemy
We never stop to see
We are surrounded by ourselves
My world is more then me

What if just once we were to stop
And watch for just a while
Those that pass us every day
And risk a simple smile

What if we were to say hello
And if our eyes should meet
Might we find that they respond
And the gesture they repeat

What if we risked a word or two
Or a casual remark
To find they are receptive
In conversation we embark

Might we find that our one smile
And those few words would tend
To cut across the silent void

View original post 6 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

