And You Thought It Was Just Me

Finally, someone has made sense out of it all.  And the results are not surprising.  I’ve suspected it all along.  I just never could prove it.  I’m talking about some of the side effects to the aging process.  You know the one’s.  Or maybe you don’t.  Maybe you too have forgotten them.  Hummmm?  Yes, I’m talking about memory lapses, sometimes cruelly referred to as senior moments.

How many of you get home from shopping and suddenly realize you forgot to get an item.  You didn’t write it down because “I’ll remember that”.  Or forgot to call and schedule an appointment.  Or can’t find your keys, etc.  Anyone?  Come on guys.  If you were being totally honest, you would fess up.  What’s that?  You’re to young to have memory loss.  That’s for old people! Well guess what.  We all have it.  The only distinction is frequency.   Those of you that are not yet “of an age”, are just as guilty as the rest of us that have been on the vine a little longer.  It is not a dress rehearsal.

The worst part of a memory lapse is that it sometimes results in embarrassment when the window of opportunity gets slammed on your fingers.  And of course, it is all “our own fault” because we are, how can I say this, oh yeah, OLD.

So, it was with some pleasure and a degree of vindication that I read an article the other day regarding a problem familiar to all of us, regardless of age. It is the problem of walking into another room and forgetting what we came in there for.  It appears that it is not our fault at all.  Psychologists at Notre Dame University have discovered that passing through a door triggers what they call an Event Boundary in your mind, separating one set of thoughts  from the next.  Apparently, your brain files the thoughts you had in the room that you left, and creates a blank slate for the new room.  And there it is.  All this time, we have been blaming ourselves when in fact, it was the door.  That’s it!!!

I don’t know about you, and I am not an “I told you so kind of person”, but seriously, haven’t you always suspected something like this?  I’ll bet you did.  And now we have proof.

The more I think about this, the more sense it makes.  When I can’t find my car keys, and they turn up in the ignition, why do you think that is.  It’s because when I got out of the car, I had to go through a Door.  When I get into the car and suddenly can’t remember where I am going, it has to be because of the door.  Come to think of it, most everything I forget has happened after I have walked through some doors.  That forgotten grocery item?  The call I didn’t make because my phone was in another room?.  It was because of a door.  Yesssss.

I think I will celebrate with a beer.  One cool one, coming up.  OK, I know I came in here to the refrigerator for something.  Humm.  There’s some cold cuts.  Maybe I was going to make a sandwich.  And while I’m in here, I think I’ll grab a beer.

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Aging, Health, Humorous, Life, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And You Thought It Was Just Me

  1. snoogiefisk says:

    Sure, its obviously the doors fault. Duh!

    Like

  2. There’ one other thing that’s worse than being forgetful and it’s……………………………………………..

    Like

  3. msmcword says:

    I had a comment ready but I forgot what I was going to write.

    Like

  4. splitspeak says:

    Haha…Loved the ending. I’m happy that I can now be labelled by my “issue”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

