If One Is Good

oldmainer

If one is good, then two must be great, he said laughingly.  I smiled and nodded in agreement.  But later, when thinking about it, I began to have my misgivings and in fact concluded that I could think of several exceptions to that rule.

My mind went back to when, as a boy of seventeen (yes, I was seventeen once) I was facing the impending crisis confronted by every high school boy with two left feet, the Senior Prom.  More specifically, although I frequently talked about girls, I seldom if ever actually talked to one.  Now, I was going to have to ask one to a dance.

 After considering my options, I narrowed them down to a couple of safe choices. By that I mean girls whose laughter would not reverberate throughout the halls of the school upon my invitation.  My town, like many, was subtlety divided into white collar and…

View original post 633 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

