Living The Dream

Reality can destroy the dream, why shouldn’t the dream destroy reality?
G. E. Moore
British philosopher
1673-1958

Through the years as I neared retirement, I often heard it referred to as ‘living the dream’.  Time to finally do all those things you always said you would do.  Leisure days spent doing, well, whatever you wanted to spend them doing.  So, like everyone else, I looked forward with anticipation to the day when it would all be mine.

I have been retired about fourteen years now, and I have to tell you that, although I would not want to trade it for my old environment, it isn’t exactly what I thought it would be.  I guess this is because most of us have a tendency to err on the side of optimum results, when, in fact, it is no different then anything else we do.  The results vary.

When you lift nirvana’s veil and peer under it at reality, you suddenly come face to face with what it is really going to be like.  Most of what was there yesterday, good and bad, is still there today.  It wasn’t miraculously removed and replaced with the world we have heretofore only experienced in our dreams, nor should we have expected it to.  We did not replace anything.  We simply changed it.

However, change can be good because we have a chance to influence it.  What we now have is the time and the ability to make more personal choices then we did before.  Reality is subjective.  Although it is what it is on the grand scale, our personal realities can be molded by us.  We can choose how we are going to live and love within the confines of our means.  Since dreams are wholly of our own making, so is their realization.  Which ones come true is totally up to me.

I will probably never do a lot of the things I dreamed about over the years and, in fact, no longer wish to do many of them.  Dreams are fantasies of the mind and change as we change.  There are not a lot of things that I coveted when in my twenties that I still covet today, and conversely, there are a lot of things that are attractive to me today that weren’t then.  For instance, health and comfort have moved up on the scale and carry substantially more weight than they used to, while monetary goals and ambitions have been reshaped often.

But here’s the thing.  I Am in fact living my dream.  It isn’t yesterdays dream, nor will it be tomorrows.  It is simply being happy today, sampling life as it reveals itself and taking from it that which appeals to me. There is much that I will just have to live with, but there is so much more that is within my ability to change.  To shape into what I want or wish it to be.  A place that allows me to acknowledge reality and then shape it to my liking.  That’s as good as it gets, and for me, that is good enough.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Aging, Home, Life, Love, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living The Dream

  1. bgbowers says:

    A healthy philosophy. And, yes, everything is in our power to change if we choose it.

    Like

  2. you have perfectly drawn my own circumstance

    Like

Leave a Reply

