Immaculate Perception

oldmainer

When I was a manager, the task that I disliked more then any other was preparing the annual performance appraisals of my employees. Each year, I would struggle to make pertinent comments while showing compassion.  That was not always as easy as it would appear.  Sometimes I  would find myself entertaining a mental  comment unbecoming a manager, but instead would carefully phrase it so the issue was addressed tactfully but hopefully, the criticism was constructive.

 I am retired now, so I have more latitude.  As such, I am putting together a few suggestions of what the manager says and what he/she would like to say.  Hopefully, this will take some of the mystery out of the review  process.  Here we go.

Manager: This employee struggles to grasp the more basic responsibilities of the position.
Definition: This employee is depriving a village somewhere of an idiot.

Manager: This employee should seek opportunities outside…

View original post 186 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Communication, Compassion, Humorous, Laugh, Reflection, Retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

