What Goes Around

I was reading an article the other day which, among other things, touched on the subject of reincarnation.  I have never given it enough thought to decide whether I believe it in or not.  I do tend to think there is something to it though.  There are enough things that defy explanation to lead me in that direction.

I have heard it said that reincarnation is a cycle, during which we keep coming back until we reach perfection.  I’m not sure I ascribe to that theory however.  I have met too many people that believe they have achieved that when in fact, they obviously are shy a few cycles.

The article talked about how most people, when confronted with the question, focus on past lives.  Where have they been and why don’t they remember anything about them. To answer this, one must turn to their spiritual guides to bring to their awareness certain aspects of lives lived.  The reason we generally do not remember anything is to provide us with a unique experience in our current lifetime.  In other words, we leave the baggage behind and start all over.

If there is really something to all of this, although I am curious who I may have been in a previous life, in reality, I am more interested in who or what I may come back as next.  I assume when my spiritual being leaves the body, I will not be given a choice.  There is probably not a menu to choose from.  But if there were, I know how I would like to return.  I would like to be a mosquito.  Not just any mosquito.  I want to be a male mosquito.

OK, OK, I hear you chortling and chuckling.  Go ahead and  laugh.  I have given this a lot of thought and stand by my decision, and as with most decisions, I did not arrive at it lightly.  Here is my rationale.

The life cycle of a mosquito is very short, and can be truncated even more by a well placed slap.  We are looking at about 10 days here, two weeks tops, and since most mosquito’s spend their whole life within about 100 yards of where they were hatched, there is not much incentive to exercise.  Further, it is the female mosquito that bites.  Yup, she is the one that drives us crazy and leaves us with a reminder of her presence.  However, that is not to say that the male is not also annoying.  He kind of hangs around, waiting for evening when it is cooler to make the scene.  It is probably him that stumbles around the darkened bedroom, grabbing your attention, and keeping you awake.  Isn’t it amazing how life seems to imitate nature?

But here’s the best part.  The male mosquito’s sole purpose it would seem is to procreate.  The female only needs them to sustain mosquitohood.  And she is not bashful about it.  The males kind of hang around in swarms and, in the evening, the female will fly into the swarm with an intent to mate. Kind of sounds like a good evening at a sports bar doesn’t it?

So all you guys out there, maybe you too ought to give this mosquito thing some serious thought.  I mean, who among you cannot see the upside of this.  You get to do what you are doing now, and you still get to be annoying.  If you don’t like it, wait a couple of weeks, and try something else.  Just sayin.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Home, Humorous, Laugh, Life, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Goes Around

  1. Actually, regressive hypnosis, going back through past lives can not only help you in this life, it can help you heal your past lives. I’ve hypnotized my daughter a million times and it’s fantastic. It’s an important healing tool that explaines what”s going on and shows you what to do in your present. life. We seem to reincarnate with the same people all the time, but in different positions, genders, races, etc., although we supposedly tend to favor one gender over another. Anyway, it only matters what you believe as an individual. I’ve seen exploring past (and future) lives, do incredible things for people. I believe it completely. And you do get to choose your parents and what you want to focus on in your next life. At least that’s what I have found. Earth is like a fabulous/horrifying carnival ride. Seems fun when you’re looking at if from a distance but not so much fun when you’re on it:)

    Like

  2. quiall says:

    hahaha Loved the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

