Scrabble

My wife has the game of Scrabble on our computer and plays it often.  I, on the other hand, don’t spend a lot of time playing it.  Mostly, I think, because I don’t make out very well, even at a lesser level of difficulty.  Years ago, when we owned it as a board game and played against each other, I seldom won and, as such, it tested our marital bonds.  Today, I play against the computer which it seems, has adopted the role she used to assume, silently administering humiliation.

On a rare occasion the other day, I won a game and for a few minutes, basked in the glow of success.  I had slain the dragon and overcome the challenges placed before me. It felt good, at least for a little while.  But I also knew that my accomplishment was fleeting.  New games awaited.

In a way, life is kind of like that.  We are each given a set of tokens called opportunities, each with it’s own value. We then use them in an effort to maximize their collective values.  In doing so, they take us in different directions, creating new opportunities, both for you and for others.  The larger the opportunity, the greater the reward and sometimes, the path you take can enhance the result.  And just when it appears that we are running low on opportunities, we are provided with new ones, just like we are in Scrabble.

Often times, we need a little help.  Many opportunities cannot be met without some assistance, much as in Scrabble, the Q almost always needs a U.  Many times, we don’t see an opportunity (play) when one is available, either through oversight, or in my case, ignorance.  Only by preparing ourselves do we improve.  In our quest to win, our success is in large part predicated by how well we play the game. Every move we make affects the outcome.  

Kind of interesting, don’t you think?

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Life, Opinions, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrabble

  1. Interesting look at life there Bob. I’ve ended up with a few blank tiles over time. 😉

    Like

  2. oldmainer says:

    Haven’t we all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

