Shaking The Family Tree

When I am not sitting on my porch, solving today’s list of pithy problems, I like to spend time figuring out who I am.  No, that’s not right.  I know who I am, or think I am.  I want to know WHY I am who I am.  From whence did I come.  Yup, some years ago I was bitten by the genealogy bug and have spent countless hours since, trying to figure out my ancestry and that of my wife.  I have met with some degree of success although there are some ancestors that defy discovery.

Tracing the family tree can be frustrating because you spend a lot of time looking and only a little time finding.  However, it is a lot easier today then when I started.  Back then, all exploration had to be done by calling Town Clerks and writing letters of request, a very ponderous and glacierly slow process.  But today, most of what I find is on Ancestry.com, which for my money, is the most complete and comprehensive (although pricey) collection of historic records available anywhere.  So it was with some degree of excitement that I saw where they now offer DNA testing kits.  I pondered for quite a while until a couple of weeks ago, when they had a sale, reducing the price by $20, and I knew the time had come.

I anticipate the results will probably be more general then specific, and that’s OK.  I have traced my lineage back to Ireland on one side and Germany on the other, with a couple of Englishmen thrown in for good measure.  I have also traced my wife’s lineage back to France on one side, and England on the other, with some Irishmen in the mix, so I expect the results to lean heavily Europian.  What else they will find is up for grabs.

So today, we both spit in our testtubes, sealed them, and mailed them off to the lab.  I have to admit I am kind of anxious to see the results, but I am also a little tremulous.  What if it comes back and says the majority of my ancestors were  overweight old men with a predilection for sitting on porches in Europe.  I guess I would have to conclude that there really is something to this science thing.  Just sayin.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Family, History, Life, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shaking The Family Tree

  1. Theresa says:

    I can’t wait for you to get the results of your deep ancestry DNA test. We did it with National Geographic’s Genome Project, and found out that my “ground zero” was East Africa. My ancestors then migrated to West Africa, to Northern Africa (Egypt), then the Sinai Peninsula, Middle East, Eastern Mediterranean, to the Western Mediterranean. This route, from Eastern Africa to the Western Mediterranean, coincides with my paternal and maternal grandparents all emigrating to the USA (through Ellis Island) from Italy and Hungary in the early 1900s. Fascinating stuff, to say the least…

    Like

    • oldmainer says:

      I suspect the Genome Project results will be somewhat more comprehensive then what I will get from Ancestry, however, it will at least give us a little more insight into our genetics. Should be interesting since Ancestry compares them to other members DNA results and gives you leads of people with similar results, and, as their data base grows, so do the possibilities of additional matches.

      Like

  2. I look forward to hearing about your results – I’ve been on ancestry.com since the beginning – spent 30 years doing part time genealogy as I traveled the world on business – was able to trace one root line back to the 12th century – my work has idled for the last dozen years

    Like

  3. I did mine a last year, no big surprises, Caucasian mainly, then 1% Jewish, oi vay and 1% Asian.

    Like

Leave a Reply

