Cobwebs

attic

 Atop the creaky stairs up to the attic
Dim light peeks through grimy windows
Cobwebs, natures lace, abound.

A chest, long forgotten
Maternity clothes stored 
Expectations never met

Phonograph records
Songs and singers
Music of my youth

Faded photos
Yesterday in black and white
Cracked leather albums their tomb.

A uniform, tarnished brass
Our nation called
A generation answered

These are my treasures
Stories frozen in time
Captured years

In my attic
Nostalgia’s heart beats
And a piece of me remains

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, History, Home, Life, Memories, Poetry, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

