I Am – You Are

oldmainer

I recently read a post on Splitspeak.wordpress.com that contained a poem by Shel Silverstein from his book “Every Thing On It”.  It is called “Masks”.  It so typified, to me, how we go through life so conscious of our shortcomings, or just our differences, that we often never see beyond that.  We fail to see that sometimes it is our differences that make us the same.  I have reproduced the poem here followed by my take on the theme.

Masks

“She had blue skin,
And so did he.
He kept it hid
And so did she.
They searched for blue
Their whole life through,
Then passed right by-
And never knew.”
― Shel SilversteinEvery Thing on It

Ted ambled aimlessly down the mall, only half glancing in the windows of the stores that tried to seduce him to enter.  He wasn’t looking for anything in particular.  In fact…

View original post 1,369 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Compassion, Fear, Life, Sad, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am – You Are

  1. ramblingsofcraig says:

    Nice writing Bob, I am impressed. Craig

    Like

Leave a Reply

