Enough!!!!

Enough!!!  You’re driving me crazy.  All you do is think up things for me to do.  Every day it’s something else.  If it’s not the guest bedroom, it’s the family room or the bonus room, or the living room ceiling.  Carpets and drapes come and go quicker then tourists.  Every room in the house has been painted once, a couple twice, and one three times, and we have only been here ten years.  Are we ever going to be finished.  How old do I have to be before we start hiring some of this out?

That was yesterday.  I self righteously walked around in a funk for a while, telling myself how tough it is and how I shouldn’t have to keep doing all this stuff.  After all, spring is coming and I am going to want to be out in the yard.  A lot of things have to be done.  As the snow melts and exposes more of the ground, I observe all of the tree trash that has come down over the winter.  The garage is a disaster and I have planned to back the cars out and do a comprehensive inventory of what I can live without.  Next month, a cord of wood will be dropped in my driveway.  That means the seasoned wood has to be moved up into the yard so the green wood can be stacked down on the woodlot.  Gardens need prepping, peas planted, and before I know it, the lawn will need regular mowing.  And, as you reminded me last week, the deck needs to be stained again.  These are the things on My to do list. These are my ideas of what needs to be done around here.  Do them once and cross them off the list. Done.  Move on.  That’s the way I like it.

This is today.  The sun is shining this morning and we are having the first few days in the forties.  I walked around the yard and surveyed some of the gardens that are just now peeking through.  Pretty soon the daffodils and crocus will be up, celebrating spring.  I can’t help but feel a little excited about starting a new season.  Oh I know by June, I will be grumbling about having to weed and water gardens, etc., when I would prefer to be sitting on the porch with a cool one.  I also know, I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

The best thing about all this is, after 52 years together, none of it matters.  Attitude is subjective.  Now you see it, now you don’t.  It will be the same tomorrow as it was yesterday and neither one of us would expect anything different.  She is not bothered by my less then enthusiastic responses to her ideas.  She has been living with them for years and just lets me ramble. She knows I will come around.  She also knows I will never pay for something I can do myself.  And, in reality, nothing she suggests surprises me either.  They are a part of who she is, who we are, and there is a certain order to that.  We have become like a pair of old slippers.  One not much good without the other.  We fuss.  We argue.  We disagree.  But buried in all the rhetoric is one underlying fact.  We love.

So, as the summer wears on, and some of the days are too hot to work outside for any length of time, and the porch beckons, I know, as sure as I am standing here, that I will say “Did you have any particular color in mind for the guest bedroom?”  And life will move on, just like it always does.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Aging, Home, Life, Love, Random Thoughts, Retirement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Enough!!!!

  1. Edwin Best says:

    My wife won’t let me do the painting any more because I make too much mess – she does it herself (and very well too!). It just worked out that way … no planning on my part at all.

    Like

  2. quiall says:

    My parents were a lot like you two. They had 58 years together. It is wonderful to witness.

    Like

  3. That has to be one of the best all time ever articles I ever read.
    I have been reading your stuff and when i saw the headline I thought OMG he’s finally snapped.
    Great post, well written, great ending, and so so true. I am like you a lot “She also knows I will never pay for something I can do myself.” I understand that so much. It’s hard for guys who are good with the hands to watch somebody do a ‘half job’ on our money.
    Truly great piece!

    Like

  4. Yippee for those worn old slippers 🙂

    Like

  5. Good one Bob, clomp around the place, moan and groan, wave the arms then acquiesce. 🙂

    Like

  6. gpcox says:

    Right you are, Bob. Don’t seat the small stuff.

    Like

  7. oldmainer says:

    And, as an ex boss of mine would say, “it’s all small stuff,”

    Like

Leave a Reply

