We’ll Be Right Back

I used to enjoy TV a lot more back in it’s younger years.  I’m talking about the time when you had ABC, CBS, and NBC.  If you didn’t like those, well.  you could have your pick of sound patterns which, by today’s viewing standards, might be preferable.

The other night I had settled in for a quiet evening of watching commercials when they broke in with a program.  How strange is that?  Have you done any channel surfing lately?  If I were a betting man, I would bet you that eight out of ten times, you would land on a commercial, since twenty minutes of every hour is consumed by them.  Even that might not be so bad if it wasn’t the same ones, over and over.  I have seen so much of Flo on the Progressive commercial that I wouldn’t be at all surprised if I ran into her at the grocery store.  She’s part of the household now.

I have a few favorite programs that I watch faithfully, but mostly, I just look for the one that irritates me the least.  I’m talking about the “reality” shows.  I guess I must be in the minority here, since they wouldn’t show them if they didn’t sell, and they are everywhere.  There are the ones that are going to fix things, like saving restaurants, car dealerships, bakeries, and barrooms.  Seems like there must be a lot of people out there that own businesses that shouldn’t be allowed out without supervision.

Then there are the survival shows, where everyone is allowed to screw the other contestants under the guise of civility and fair play.  Yeah, right.  And how about the “Housewives of” (fill in the blank), the Bachelor and Bachelorette shows, the dance moms, weight loss contests, ballistic brides to be, 27 food contest shows, and if you really want to space out, there is always “Honey BooBoo.”  If none of that grabs you, you can always find shows about duck calls, pawnshops, rebuilding classic cars, treasure hunting with metal detectors, ghost hunting, buying storage lockers, and searching for junk on the highways and byways.  And that is not to even mention the “news” shows where the news is delivered according to their individual persuasion and you can pick the one that agrees with you. Kind of an eclectic mix, is it not.  Be still my beating heart.

Don’t get me wrong.  There are some good shows on too. Some of my picks are Bones and Castle, Reign, Grimm, and Blacklist.   I can even be found watching Hells Kitchen and Voice.  I guess the upside is, there is something for everyone.   I just think it is a sad testimony to our idea of entertainment today when, as if our own lives didn’t offer enough challenges, we have to tune in to watch someone elses.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  Now, where did I put that TV guide.  There is a rerun of The Andy Griffith show that I don’t want to miss:)

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Opinions, Random Thoughts, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We’ll Be Right Back

  1. I hardly turn the TV on anymore. When I do it’s to watch PBS (I like Mystery and documentaries), or a channel without ads. I can’t stand it. I do catch Castle, now and then and I always watch Elementary, because I’ll watch almost anything with Sherlock. Most nights I don’t watch at all because there is NOTHING on that won’t rot my brain and I truly hate commercials…as you said, the ads are longer than the programs. They are SO LONG that they actually have to break in between them and remind you of what PROGRAM you are watching. I just don’t watch anything, then I’m not frustrated and disgusted.

    Like

  2. msmcword says:

    A few weeks ago I started watching the reruns of “The Real McCoys.” And I also have a DVD box set of the last season of “The Andy Griffith Show” as well as a DVD box set of “Leave It To Beaver.”
    Ah, the Golden Age of Television-how sad that it does not exist anymore.

    Like

  3. We record the shows we want to watch, usually, Castle, Blacklist, Bones. Can’t stomach the ‘reality shows.’

    Like

  4. oldmainer says:

    Probably a smart move. Most of what is on sucks

    Like

Leave a Reply

