Are We There Yet?

Have you ever had one of those projects that never seems to be finished?  Oh I’m not talking about repetitive things like mowing the lawn or eating all the cookies.  No, I’m talking about the “let’s do this once and be done” type of projects.  Well, I do.  I didn’t plan it that way but that’s the way it has worked out.

When we moved into our house about ten years ago, there were several things that we wanted to tackle, as there always are when you are not the first owner.  Paramount among them was painting and the room choice was easy.  The dining room was done in what appeared to be one coat of Cajun Sunset in a gloss.  It was bright in there even with the lights off.  The previous owner had three kids so I guess they needed something washable to remove fingerprints and such, not that you could see  them when you were squinting.   So, after we had made the place liveable, we dragged out the tarps and rollers and headed for the dining room.  We had picked out a neutral green color that took three coats to cover.  Actually, it looked pretty good, but anything was an improvement and, most important, I could cross that off my to do list, or so I thought.

It wasn’t too long before it was suggested we could improve on the room by installing white crown molding, so I did.  However, now the wood tone of the windows and baseboard looked funny, so I set upon painting them white as well.  Alright.  One down,  several to go.

After moving on to the living room which we did in a deeper shade of green,  the idea surfaced to put a white chair rail in the dining room and paint the lower part of the wall the same deeper shade of green as the living room.  What?  Back to the dining room AGAIN? No thank you.  I’m not painting that room again.

I’ll have to say it looked pretty good when I finished.  I might also mention, to keep up with the progression of the walls, we (and I use a rhetorical ‘we’ here) decided the window treatments needed updating.  So down came the wood blinds and up went the white ones, later to be replaced by roman shades.  The drapes of course now also had to be replaced to complement the wall color.  And, if you have ever replaced window treatments, you are well aware that the hardware is never the same.  But at least, we were Finally done in there, Again.

Last month, my wife, while reading a magazine, casually remarked on how attractive a room displayed in multiple shades of tans and light browns was.  I made the mistake of agreeing.  Not too long after that with some gentle prodding, (definition–thinly disguised threats) I was ‘encouraged’ to incorporate similar colors into our home.  And where do you think that would be?  Yup, you guessed it.  She wanted to redo the dining room.   Now she had gone too far.  I applied some male logic, pointing out that all that paint was making the room smaller, not to mention the extra weight it was adding to the structure. It was definitely not a prudent plan to paint it again.  Nope, in my considered opinion it LOOKED FINE!

We just bought a new area rug for the dining room the other day.  The old one just didn’t go with the new brown color scheme and drapes. 

Hey, gotta go.  I see the FedEx truck backing into the driveway.  That has to be the new chandelier.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Home, Humorous, Laugh, Life, Love, Marriage, Retirement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are We There Yet?

  1. Women! 🙂
    Excellent story!

    Like

  2. I feel your ‘painting pain’ Bob. Over time I’ve painted two of my own houses inside and out, one of my own inside and the outside of a friends, two storey colonial house. I don’t even own a paintbrush now. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

