Just Heat and Stir

Let me preface this by saying that my wife is a wonderful cook, evidenced by the lack of leftovers that would normally populate the refrigerator shelves.  I, on the other hand, am not such a good cook.  I am not without any creds however.  I make a mean sandwich, hotdog, or anything you can pour out of a can.

My wife is the consummate measurer.  If the recipe says half a teaspoon, that is exactly what is in there.  The only time she deviates is after Thanksgiving, when she boils the turkey caucus to make soup.  Every year the soup is delicious, and every year it is different because she adds whatever we have on hand.  Sometimes there is rice in there and other times there is pasta.  If there are partial bags of frozen vegetables that need to be used up, in they go.  I on the other hand, do not measure, exactly.  It took me a while to figure out that tspn was not a small Tbls, and that some ingredients grow when they get wet, like rice and macaroni.  Once, years ago, I decided to make my signature dish, macaroni and cheese.  I must say it was delicious, every time we ate it, and ate it, and ate it.  If you ever want to know what 40 lbs of macaroni and cheese looks like, I can tell you.

A couple of years before I retired, my wife was diagnosed with throat cancer.  As such, she spent some time in the hospital undergoing both radiation treatment and chemo therapy, leaving me to my own devices in the kitchen (spelled restaurant).  I had a team of about 18 customer service reps working for me, most of which were ladies.  Now, I don’t look like I have missed many meals, so it isn’t like I was starving or anything.  But it didn’t matter.  The ladies on my team took it upon themselves to feed me.  Taking turns, each Monday, one of them would arrive with a bag containing enough food for five dinners.  All I had to do was defrost one and heat it up.  However, I’ll admit, by the time my wife came home,  I never thought I would be able to eat another lasagna. Needless to say, I gained a new appreciation for the phrase “random acts of kindness”.  There is no way I could ever repay them for their thoughtfulness, although a couple of suggestions were made about remembering this at annual appraisal time.

Now that my time is my own (make that ours), I have found my niche in the kitchen. Sous Chef.  It is I that peels and chops, slices and cubes all the veggies. I am the one that makes the salads.  And yes, I have even sauteed a couple of things.  Now, if I can only learn the difference between measuring wet and dry ingredients, who knows what barriers I may bust.  Look out Martha Stewart.

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Home, Humorous, Laugh, Life, Love, Marriage, Memories, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Just Heat and Stir

  1. sknicholls says:

    Good luck with that. I applaud your courage. My husband only knows how to make frozen pizza in the microwave, so if I am going out of town, I have to stock up.

    Like

  2. A great post Bob, it shows you can stand up and survive, with a little help from your friends. 🙂 At the age of twelve I started cooking family size meals, mother worked, the old man drank and there were 3 younger siblings to look after. I would have made someone a great wife. 🙂 I still enjoy cooking, my lovely wife has learned to let me loose in the kitchen and I usually whip up something interesting.

    Like

  3. bgbowers says:

    Sorry to hear about your wife x

    Like

  4. Edwin Best says:

    I don’t do that much cooking anymore. I just offer advice. My wife loves my cooking tips – you can hear the screams a block away!

    Like

  5. splitspeak says:

    Once again you got me at your talent and style of humor and suddenly you throw in a curve ball that made me feel sad, and back to the humor like nothing ever happened. I am so glad to read that your wife is cancer-free. Lovely post Bob…still got any leftover mac and cheese?? 🙂

    Love Mehak

    Like

Leave a Reply

