Choosing Forever

Reblog. Originally published Oct 2012

oldmainer

I listen to the crunch of gravel as I drive slowly down the central avenue of the cemetery.  I gaze at the headstones, clustered on either side, some showing their age, while all silently stand watch over those that they honor.

I first came here a couple of years ago while researching my family to find the resting place of a great aunt.  That had been a sunny summer day and I was taken by the shade and shadow provided by the elderly trees in the old section that spread their leafed wings over the landscape.  I welcomed the beauty and the feeling of peace that surrounded me.

Today, my wife and I have come for another reason.  I’ve told her of this place and wanted her to see it.  The day is gray and overcast, a chill in the air, rain threatening to challenge the clouds.  The overseer said the section we seek…

View original post 148 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Aging, Death, Faith, Narrative, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

