The Gift

Reblog. Originally posted Oct 2012

oldmainer

It’s gone, the thundering voice of destruction, leaving behind the shattered lives and loves of yesterday.  The darkness is broken only by the sounds of silence.  I am alive, but dare not breathe for fear it will return.  I have survived the tornado.

There is a stir beneath me as I feel my boys begin to move.  Sheltered by my body, they survived.  I hug them closer. “Mom, are we dead” a tremulous voice ventures.  “No” I say, “God did not look the other way.  Now we must find a way to save ourselves”.

I try to move and a flash of pain runs through my body.  I am trapped.  I cannot move my legs.  The futility of my efforts floods my emotions.  I must stay calm. We are alone and no one knows we’re here.  What’s that?  A voice, faint but growing stronger.

“Hello!  Hello!” it calls. “Can anybody…

View original post 474 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Children, Faith, Health, Love, Narrative, Sad, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

