A Second Look

Reblog from my archives first published August 2012

oldmainer

Time was, when I had far less miles and fewer oil changes, I had a mindset that there was a right and wrong to everything. No gray, no pink, no whatever. Serious thought about most anything resulted in a firm resolution, one way or the other. Opinions, filtered through my paradigms, became fact and were stored in a box labeled Conclusions, to be trotted out as supporting evidence whenever challenged. 

I don’t know how many times, over the years, I would open this box, only to find that many of the conclusions contained were, at best, suspect and in many cases obsolete. This however had no profound impact on my system, and new conclusions were always available to replace them.

 Experience taught me that I was not alone in my mindset. Everyone had one of these boxes and was more then willing to open theirs when occasions demanded. Many…

View original post 162 more words

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

