To Your Health

I read an article not long ago that was discussing the health benefits of laughing.  It said it is good for your respiratory tract and also strengthens the heart muscle.  However, it didn’t say anything about helping you lose weight.  And that made sense to me, because I laugh a lot and although I’m not really heavy, I am a little short for my weight.  I knew I was in trouble when I went to an L.L. Bean closeout sale and the only thing they had in my size was a canoe.

I know what my problem is.  Exercise.  I don’t even like the sound of the word.  There is nothing worse then exercising just for the sake of exercise.  I have to disguise it.  You know, do something I like to do that also burns calories.  Offhand, nothing comes to mind, but I’m sure there is something.

I was never very good at sports, so I never really pursued them.  Oh sure, I did a little bowling, but our team usually had a few beers between frames, so I don’t think I gained the full benefit of the effort.  Some friends once encouraged me to try golf, so I did.  I must not have tried hard enough because I was not invited back.  I guess they are waiting for the cold day in hell they mentioned.

Up here in Maine, we are fortunate to have sports for all seasons.  When the temperature drops below freezing, you can ice skate, or after it snows, you can ski.  The problem is, you have to go out to do either one and in my case, both could be dangerous to my health.  But I did find one sport that looks like it might not be too bad and I think I could be good at it.  Icefishing.

So, all things considered, I don’t think I am going to be dropping many pounds any time soon.  But I am concerned about staying healthy.  So I have decided to start laughing a lot more then I have been.  Especially when I am sitting by the fireplace watching it snow.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Narrative and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Your Health

  1. I hate excercising too, so when I started having problems hiking up mountains, which I love to do, I bought a small KAYAK!!! Even though it’s upper body strength, you burn serious calories and it’s so fn gorgous out on a lake. I don’t do rivers, I’m too old for that. haha but getting up before dawn and getting on the lake for sunrise, is just incredible. I LOVE IT!!!! of course winter is another whole problem…but spring, summer and fall are awesome!

    Like

  2. oldmainer says:

    I saw a sunrise once, but i can’t remember if it was in a movie or a book. Just screwing with you. I love walking the dogs when the sun comes up through the trees. It’s quiet and peaceful. Kind of like having the world to yourself.

    Like

  3. Patty Q says:

    I love it!!!! Very Andy Rooney.

    Like

Leave a Reply

