The Rubber Game

A few weeks ago, I posted a blog called Beautiful Lies.  In it I refer to a friend that I visit each week in the nursing home.  I will call him RR.  I walked into his room one day and introduced myself and asked if he would like some company.  He was open to it and turned out to be a very personable man.  We swapped stories and very soon found ourselves talking as if we had known each other for years.

“Do you play cribbage” he asked.

“Yes” I said, “but it has been years.  I’m game to play though, if you will help me score”.

 And so it began. Each week when I would arrive, we would drag out the board and play a rubber of three games.  I never remember winning more then one game and never a rubber.  But it didn’t make any difference.  I think we both enjoyed our time together, regardless of the outcome.  I know I did.

I also got to meet some of his family, among them, a wife full of love and life.  She was one of those people that you meet that become instant friends.  But I must say, all of his family were devoted to each other, as you wish all families could be.  The bond was palpable.

RR left us a few days ago, and I lost again.  But more importantly, RR has won.   I wish you luck RR.  May your next hand be less painful then the one you just played.  I will miss the quiet courage you displayed, your attitude in the face of adversity, and the twinkle in your heart. You were a hard guy to beat but an easy guy to like.  Goodbye my friend.

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Narrative and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

