What Doesn’t Kill You Etc.

While watching the commercials between program breaks, about twenty minutes worth out of each hour, I have noticed that we have become a generation that apparently believes that for every symptom, there is an equal and opposite cure.  Advertisements for medications, both over the counter and prescription, have become much more prevalent, advising you to “ask you doctor if (fill in the blank) is right for you”.  Given the preponderance of such ads, it would appear that a) your doctor  apparently is not sharp enough to know what to prescribe without your assistance, and b) self diagnosis is alive and well.

But, here’s what bothers me.  If you pay close attention to these commercials, you will find that for each advantage professed, there are also a couple of side effects.  Like one product for low testosterone in adult males. Why only adult males.  Well, it is apparently not known if it is safe or effective in children and could cause unexpected signs of puberty.  Talk about growing up fast.  But let’s not go there.  Suffice it to say that they could physically end up in the fast lane.

  Ok.  Not a biggie I guess.  I suspect the number of children going to their doctor complaining about low testosterone is  probably relatively small.  However, it also mentions some common side effects that includes increased  red blood cell count, diarrhea, headache and vomiting.  Wow.  Kind of makes you want to run right down to the doctors office doesn’t it”.

I will not go into the more obscure symptoms like possible blood clots, difficulty breathing while you sleep, and swelling of the legs and feet, other then to say I think I would opt for celibacy.    

Here’s my point.  Whatever happened to the old days when remedies were a lot simpler and, it appears, a lot safer.  I remember as a kid with a cold, my folks would give me a shot of whiskey added to a mixture of sugar and water heated on the stove.  That and a mustard plaster stuck to my chest before going to bed helped me sweat it out overnight.  To this day, although I do not like whiskey, I still  endorse the benefits of alcohol in my health regimen and frequently premedicate myself with a couple of frosty brews.  Oh sure, I still get colds, but I enjoy them a lot more now.  

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Doesn’t Kill You Etc.

  1. oldmainer says:

    Reblogged this on oldmainer and commented:

    Reblog Originally published Oct 2012

    Like

Leave a Reply

