I’m Scared

I’m scared.  Not physically, white faced, hair on end scared.  But scared in a more subtle way.  Do you know how you feel sometimes when something bothers you and it is bigger then you?  You see it so clearly but you are only one voice?  

I normally do not discuss politics.  It is what it is.  I have my opinion and others have theirs.  Both think they are right.  End of conversation.  But this time it is different.  This time, I solemnly believe that we are at a turning point.  Like picking your way through the dark when every step could be your last.  That feeling in your gut that something horrific is about to happen.  

This is not my idea of freedom.  This is not the America I grew up in.  And as much as it has changed, I cannot shake the feeling that the worst is yet to come, if we continue to sit on the sidelines.

I watch a partisan government wallow in gridlock  like pieces on a chessboard, each jockeying to capture the others king.  The common goal is self preservation.  Re-election at any cost.    Say anything and do anything all in the name of politics.  Civility, integrity, and compromise are just words.  Power, money, and influence drive every decision.

Unfortunately, we never seem to learn from history.  Most of what is being tried, has been tried, and failed.  We need look no further then Greece and Spain.  We don’t even have to crack a book.  It is on the news every day.  But as a nation, we have dumbed down  over the years.  There are those among us that think monetary redistribution is the way to go.  Robin Hood got in trouble with the Sheriff of Nottingham for something similar.  They called it stealing.

We are a powerful nation are we not?  The world looks up to us and we are respected.  Yeah, right.  Maybe once upon a time, but we have piddled that away.  We now pay countries to love us and we all know how that has worked out.  

I believe the integrity of the presidency has been bartered away.  We selected a president based on personality and oratory skills.  Not experience or expertise in a management role and turned him loose to run the United States.  And we got what we deserved.  A celebrity in chief who has spent us into the ground and weakened us in the eyes of the world while beguiling the masses with his wit and verbal slight of hand.  And now, he wants an additional four years for his policies to work.  The same policies that have failed during his present term.  Einstein said it best when he said “insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result”.  Besides polarizing a nation with his class rhetoric  pitting one group against another, he has also seized power via end runs around the congress.  The favorite toys in his toy-box are appointing czars who fall outside the scrutiny of congress, and issuing executive orders which mandate decrees without benefit of congress, bending if not breaking the Constitution.

I guess it is pretty obvious which way I lean.  But truth be known, I’m not sold on the challenger either.  But this is the time that I must take that step into the dark and take my chances on the unknown.  I have had the opportunity to see what the current administration has provided, and that is why I’m scared.

 

About oldmainer

I am retired and live in southern Maine with my wife and two dogs. I started Oldmainer .wordpress.com as an outlet for my occasional opinions and random observations, with some poetry thrown in. I welcome anyone that wants to kick back and join me here on the porch, exploring all the gifts we have been given and the memories collected. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Scared

  1. Emery Taylor says:

    Hey Bob! Before I read yor recent blog, about 30 minutes ago, I typed into Google “I am scared about the security of our country” !!! And we are not the only ones. We have been lied to by a president that does’t even try to do the job he was elected to by a bunch of people that he lied to……:(

    Like

  2. Kathy Norris says:

    Bob – True words and “I’m Scared, too”. I had an older gentleman tell me the other day that he felt like he HAS LIVED in the “best of times. – there are derelicts – raising derelicts going on a 3rd generation” – I thought about his words for a very long time and I’m Scared for my children and grandchildren…. Powerful words…

    Like

Leave a Reply

